top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrooks Anthony

Sisterly Love - February 14

Updated: Feb 21, 2020

Author: Debbie Bell


Tri Delta is & will always be a Fraternity where women can find steadfast love & sisterhood!!”


I first met Melissa my freshman year at Mizzou. We were Tri-Delt pledge sisters and quickly became friends due to having so many things in common. Our freshman year we both were majoring in Fashion Merchandising and had hometown boyfriends. Neither of us were crazy about going out at the time which is hard to believe about Melissa. That changed over time though as we both broke up with our boyfriends. Thus began a new adventure for the two of us as we attended frat parties and went out to the bars. Due to Melissa’s eye for fashion she would give me advice on what to wear when we went out. We both ended up meeting our future husbands at Mizzou.


Blessed be the tie that binds”


Over the years additional things crossed both of our paths. We both lost a sister, Melissa’s Mom and my mother-in-law graduated together from Hickman and Melissa’s Dad and my husband were in the same fraternity. It was through these events and commonalities that I realized I truly had gained a sister for life.


Our paths may change as life goes along but our bond as sisters will remain ever strong.”


Our sisterly ties continued after college as we were in each other’s wedding. My husband and I moved to Atlanta after being in Kansas City for four years. When we came back home for our yearly visits I would always make the effort to see Melissa. In Melissa’s thoughtful way she would mail me numerous Plaza Christmas ornaments, which to this day I treasure. We both started our families and continued to visit each other over the years. After being in Atlanta for ten years my husband and I moved back to Kansas City. We both got busy with our children’s lives, activities, and work and saw each other less.


Sisters take care of each other, watch out for each other, comfort each other and are there for each other through thick and thin.”


Melissa and I re-kindled our friendship and picked up right where we left off. We started getting together for our birthdays. I will always treasure the time that Melissa helped me with decorating my house. She suggested getting some curtains which to this day I still have in my house. Then began Melissa’s second battle and I knew that it was time for me to make the most of our days together. I cooked meals for Melissa, made her tomato soup and used produce from my garden. I so treasured our conversations about our faith, our children and things we needed to work on. God be with you till we meet again my red-haired, fun loving, out-spoken and thoughtful sister. I miss you dearly and know one day we will see one another in our eternal home.



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page