top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrooks Anthony

Always Smiling... - February 25

Author: Terri Chadd


Mark and I met The Anthony’s 17 years ago at Milburn Country Club. At first, we watched from afar and said to each other, "we want to be a part of the Corinth Mafia" as their group was called, they looked like they had so much fun. Once we met Jeff and Melissa they opened their arms and from that day forward the late night after swim parties will be forever etched into our minds. We always thought we were getting home fairly early but come to find out, the Anthony’s turned back the clock so you wouldn’t leave. Lol When Melissa got diagnosed with cancer, she came out fighting. I’m sure she was down sometimes in private but she never showed that to any of us. When she started to lose her hair, she even had a shave her head party and she asked me to shave it for her. I was honored, she must of liked how I shaved my husband Marks head. Then again I was blessed to go shopping for wigs with her. We laughed so hard because she tried on some funny wigs, but then we found the perfect one. She was always smiling through all of it!!! Melissa and I had so many wonderful memories, celebrating Birthdays, dancing on stage/ black coffee table, setting our kids up to go to prom, yearly America Royal BBQ’s, Red Hot Nights, there are so many wonderful memories I have of her, it’s hard to list them all. One memory I’ll never forget is the day Melissa’s passed, I saw a white feather floating on the tennis court and then when I got in the car, our song “Apple bottom Jeans” (we always sang and danced to it), came on the radio.  I knew then, she was telling me everything’s going to be all right. She smiling down on us now, I just know it! Melissa will always hold a very special place in both of our hearts, mine because we shared a wonderful friendship and in Marks because he shared the word ‘Cancer’ with Melissa, he too battled cancer and is a cancer survivor. Here’s to: Till we meet again Dear Old Friend



82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page